MALACAÑAN PALACE MANILA

BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE PHILIPPINES

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 220

SEGREGATING FROM THE MUNICIPALITY OF BANATE, PROVINCE OF ILOILO, THE FORMER MUNICIPALITY OF ANILAO, AND ORGANIZING THE SAME INTO A SEPARATE MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF ANILAO.

Whereas many of the inhabitants of the former municipality of Anilao have petitioned that the same be separated from the municipality of Banate, Province of Iloilo, and reorganized into an independent municipality;

Now, therefore, pursuant to the provisions of section sixty-eight of the Revised Administrative Code, and upon recommendation of the provincial board of Iloilo, the Secretary of the Interior and the Secretary of Finance, the thirty-five municipalities of the Province of Iloilo as established by section thirty-eight of the Revised Administrative Code, as amended by Commonwealth Act Numbered One hundred fifty-eight and Executive Order Numbered One hundred forty-three dated March fifteenth, nineteen hundred and thirty-eight, are hereby increased to thirty-six, by separating the former municipality of Anilao from the municipality of Banate and organizing the same into a separate municipality, under the name of Anilao, with the seat of government at the barrio of Anilao, subject to the condition that the new municipality shall assume the entire loan obligation of five thousand pesos contracted by the municipality of Banate for the construction of the Serallo public market.

The municipality of Anilao shall consist of the territory comprised in the former municipality of Anilao upon its fusion with the municipality of Banate under Act Numbered Seven hundred nineteen of the Philippine Commission. The municipality of Banate shall consist of its present territory less the territory comprised in the former municipality of Anilao.

The organization herein made shall take effect on October first, nineteen hundred and thirty-nine. Done at the City of Manila, this eighth day of September, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and thirty-nine, and of the Commonwealth of the Philippines, the fourth.

MANUEL L. QUEZON
President of the Philippines

By the President: JORGE B. VARGAS Secretary to the President

Source: Presidential Museum and Library

Office of the President of the Philippines. (1941). Messages of the President (Vol. 5, Prt. 1). Manila: Bureau of Printing.